no more “sweet sixteen.”

2 January, 2006

Last night I went to Marina’s and hung out with her, Lucy, Devon, and Aiden. It was fun … refreshing.

After I was home, Eta called me at like 10:40 and asked if I was home, and when I asked why she said, “Byyye!” and I was like, wtf? Then I realized she was probably doing something for my birthday. But I had to go to bed because I had to get up at 5 in the morning to go skiing. So I texted her and told her I was going to bed but she wrote back and said to stay up. So I killed some time on the computer … and then when I got back upstairs at like 11:30 I had two missed calls from Elyse, and a text saying they were going to give it to me today instead of last night. Slightly annoying since I had stayed up, but it was a nice thought. I still don’t know what they got for me though.

So yeah, got up at 5:30. Ugh.

Kind of started off to a bad start because my mom didn’t say happy birthday to me until we had been in the car for an hour. Thanks, for remembering. Granted, it’s always stressful in the morning, trying to leave on time and not forget anything. So it probably just slipped her mind. And even though “happy birthday” is pretty meaningless and impersonal, you come to expect it on your birthday and then when you don’t get it you feel disappointed. 😦

Yeah … and then we got there I just felt blah and sad. I don’t know. Going back to school tomorrow, blah! It really SUCKS that my birthday is the last day of break because it’s such a blah day. I wish my birthday was … in the fall sometime. And never landed on a Sunday or day that might as well be a Sunday because it’s the last day of a weekend and/or break. Grr. Why didn’t my parents plan better?

I also just felt blah because I didn’t feel like skiing. And I didn’t feel like being around Katherine and Sarah, I felt like being around Kristen and Dahnlia. I’m bitter and cynical, but I was thinking about how much better I like Kristen (and her friends) than Katherine (and her friends). I mean I love Kristen & Katherine the same, and I used to think I liked Katherine a whole lot better. But right now I’m just way closer with Kristen.

Katherine and Sarah are just ditzy … GOD they both forgot their ski pants at home and had to buy new ones from the store. …

Anyways. Besides all that stuff, once we did a few runs, I was in a better mood.

I kept forgetting it was my birthday. And seventeen? Seems so old to me. I think of it like (I don’t know why) … 12, 13, 14 in one group; 15 & 16 in another; and 17, 18, 19 in another group. Now I’m in the oldest group of teenagers?! I feel so old. I don’t know if I necessarily like it … I liked being 16, haha.

Lots of people wished me happy birthday … whether through call, text, comment, IM, etc … so that was nice. 🙂 I must say the two that meant the most to me, probably because they were just unexpected, were Dahlia and Brent. Yes, Brent. I can’t believe he remembered and said anything. And Dahlia, that was just kind of unexpected so it was a nice surprise and it was sweet.

Now I’m home. Feeling kind of depressed which isn’t right for your birthday. I just hate the day that it’s on. Luckily next year it’s not the last day of break. Instead it’s like the second Monday of break. Wait, I’m not sure. But that’s what I think. I can’t believe next year I’ll be EIGHTEEN! Holy shit that’s so old. lol.

Hmm what else. I guess now I’m going to watch Friends. And decide what to wear tomorrow, and stress about the APLA essay that I at least have written, but that is SO BAD and I need to edit it. A lot.

*sigh* this isn’t really the best birthday ever. 😦

Leave a Reply

