My first real college visit.

6 February
Sigh.

I just can’t keep up with my journal anymore.

Actually, it’s not that I can’t keep up, it’s just that it’s not at the top of my priorities anymore.

I always go back and forth between what I’m into. Myspace, message boards, journaling…

Anyway.

Finals. Sucked.

I was SO exhausted by the end of them. I probably completely bombed my APLA and APUSH finals, because they were on Thursday. After three days I was just … yeah. Also, those are like, my two hardest classes. Gah.

Actually, I already know I didn’t do well on my APLA one. But I’ll get to that later.

After finals were over, I was relieved to be going to Portland with my mommy. Just to get away … and not worry about things. And the weekend in between semesters is always nice, because I have way less homework than usual. I still had an APUSH study guide, but that’s expected. It’s not that bad, anyways.

Portland was good. I liked our hotel, it didn’t have ugly bedspreads. LOL That is my criteria. And it was warm, unlike some freezing hotels I’ve been in. AND it had wireless internet connection. Not that we were in our room that much, but I approved. 🙂

I like downtown Portland, too. I never thought I would LIKE anything having to do with Oregon, but I have decided now that Portland is an exception. It’s really similar to downtown Seattle, except possibly nicer. It was just cute, and quaint, and I liked it.

The actual reason we went to Portland was to visit colleges. On Friday morning we went to Lewis & Clark. We had a tour, an info session, and then I went to a class.

The tour was good. I like the campus. Not as much as Whitman or Willamette (which we visited later), but I liked it okay. It still had lots of trees and red-brick buildings, which is what I want.

Our tour-guide was cool, too. She seemed nice.

The only thing I didn’t like about the tour was the types of people I saw walking around. I mean, based solely on appearances. They just seemed really hippie. Which is fine, I like laid-back people. But I also want to be around people who want to like go out and have fun … and I guess are more preppy because that’s what I’m like. I don’t know.

The info session was fine. All I can say is that it is going to be hard to distinguish between the schools. My like, top 5 or so are ALL small, liberal arts colleges with no sororities, strong study abroad programs, pretty campuses, “close-knit communities,” good SAT scores but not so good that I can’t get in, “work hard play hard” type … and yeah. To an extent they’re all the same. How am I going to decide if one is better than the other? I guess it’s good because those qualities are exactly what I want, but it’s hard to choose!

Then I went to the class. It was a beginning Economics class. My area of expertise! 😉 Not. But I did know what they were learning that day, elasticity. I felt smart because I already knew what they were just then learning. I liked the professor a lot, and the people in the class. The people seemed more like my type of people, less hippie than I had seen on the tour. And they all seemed nice.

The professor reminded me of my sixth grade English teacher who I loved. He was like the type of teacher that was a GOOD teacher and held their own ground, but that students still loved. Kind of intimidating, but once you got past that, a really nice old guy. So yeah. I liked the professor.

He kind of stopped in the middle of class, and realized he didn’t recognize me, and asked if I was a visitor. I said I was, and he asked my name & where I was from.

Then after class, the cute guy who was sitting next to me asked what high school I go to. He was from the same city as me, and went to a high school I know. Then he was like, “You guys just went through a big remodel, huh?” And I was like … uhh … I guess. I mean, a new school was built and opened in 2000. It wasn’t a remodel, it was a rebuild, and it didn’t JUST happen. So I don’t know. Maybe he was thinking of another school or something. He was cute though. And nice.

Later that day my mom & I went to Willamette. We hadn’t scheduled a visit for it, just wanted to look around. It took us awhile to find it, though. It is in Salem, Oregon. I don’t like that town. It shows the reason I don’t like Oregon as a whole, lol. I don’t know … to me it just seemed like trashy … not pretty or anything. Suburban-ish but not even the good type of suburban … like strip-malls and everything. I don’t know. I just didn’t get a good feeling from Salem.

The Willamette campus was pretty though. It was like an oasis in the town. It was more flat and open than Lewis & Clark, which I liked. And the buildings were pretty, the grass was really green, and there was a big stream running through it. I really liked the Willamette campus.

But I don’t think I’ll be pursuing it any further really, because I didn’t like Salem and it has a lot of sororities. I know I shouldn’t just write it off for that … but I am. Lol. I don’t want to be in a sorority, because they just seem shallow, exclusive, etc. I know that’s a big generalization, it’s just not what I want. And then I don’t want to go anywhere that has them, because I know I wouldn’t be in one, but I would feel left out not being in one, and not being a part of everything. So I just want to do away with the problem altogether and go somewhere where there aren’t any sororites & the people like it that way.

After Willamette we went to Powell’s books in Portland. It’s this huge bookstore … new & used. It was really cool. Me and my mom literally spent 3 hours there. Fun. We each bought three books. We also spent a lot of that time looking at the other books, like books with photographs of the United States and it’s scenery and stuff. I looked at this one book about Oaxaca, this place in Mexico that I went in 8th grade. It was cool because it had a lot of things in it that I had seen when I was there, so I could be like, “I’ve been there! I saw that!” and the pictures were really pretty and Oaxaca is just a really cool place. It’s pronounced wuh-ha-cah. I wanted to buy the book but it was $30. Not THAT cool.

On Saturday we went out to dinner with my Grandpa and his wife (my mom’s step-mom), Shirlee. Then we drove home.

On Saturday night I went to Michelle’s. Me, Michelle, Marina, Charla, Vanni, and David watched Batman Begins. It was pretty good … for me knowing nothing about Batman.

Then when that party died down (hah) at like midnight, I went and met up with Kristen, Dahlia, Lindsey, and Lindsey’s boyfriend Frank, at a bowling alley. They were bowling, and Kristen was drunk LOL. I just hung out there for like an hour, and then went home.

Sunday was Superbowl Sunday. Seahawks lost, boohoo. I actually don’t even care that much. I wanted the Seahawks to win like everyone here, but it’s not the end of the world for me that they didn’t. Not even close. The refs kind of suck (this is where I pretend to know what I’m talking about), but I don’t think we would have won anyways. We just didn’t play that well. Better calls would have HELPED, but not necessarily have made us win.

Kristen had friends over for the game, of course. Rebecca, Andrea, Haley, Brian, and Dahlia. Dahlia wasn’t there at first, and she wasn’t going to come. But Kristen like REALLY wanted her to. She was about to get mad at her if she didn’t come. Before the game, I was up in my room reading APUSH, and Dahlia came in and was like, “You better come downstairs! I came over for you!” Aw. 🙂

God, but of course Kristen & her friends were drinking (except Dahlia, because she’s only 18 and even though my parents wouldn’t have cared, she felt weird drinking around them because she’s underaged). They were like, you should drink with us! I was like, hell no not in the same house as my parents AND step-grandparents, LOL.

But then when I came downstairs they were in the dining room, which is kind of separate from the rest of the house, and they were like, “Corinne! Corinne! Come here!” and they had made me a shot. I was like, nooo … leave me alone. But they were like, “You have to! It’s the SUPERBOWL!” so I was like, fiiiiiine … just to get them to leave me alone. And I took the stupid shot, but I didn’t like get drunk off it or anything.

But then … LOL … Kristen TOLD my mom. She didn’t really care, but it’s just AWKWARD as hell. I don’t like that she knows I drink. It feels weird? Oh well.

After the game Kristen, Dahlia, and I went to their store so they could visit their co-workers who were working. (they work at Starbucks) We went through the drivethrough, and I guess the guy working didn’t know it was us. Dahlia was all, “Did the Seahawks win?!” and the guy was like, “No … ” and Dahlia wase all, “What?!?! Those damn Hawks!” and being really crazy-annoying customer. Haha it was funny, because the guy didn’t know it was Dahlia. Then we went inside and were like, surprise!

I met Shannon, this girl that works with them. From what I’ve gathered from being around Kristen and Dahlia a lot, I think Dahlia like looks up to her a lot or something. Probably feels the way about her that I feel about Dahlia. It just seems like she looks up to her a lot, and just wants to be around her more. She seems nice.

Then I watched Grey’s Anatomy, and was up probably way too late but oh well … it seems like a good show! First episode I had watched, but I liked it. It’s Dahlia’s favorite show. 🙂

Then today was the first day of the semester.

My first period changed from World of Finance to Banking & Credit. All the same people in the class though. Teacher and subject seem boring.

In APLA we got back our practice APLA test multiple choices. He only put one section’s score in the grade book, and on that one I got 7/11. Sadly, that is the BEST that I did on any of the sections. The others were 3/6, 5/9, and 1/6. ONE OUT OF SIX! Shoot. I’m stupid.

I’m worried because my grade in APLA is a 90%. He has graded ALMOST everything, but if I don’t do good on the last few things he has to put in, I could get a B in the class. That would just SUCK. I’ve had an A in that class all semester, to go down to a B at the final end and have that be the only thing that shows up on my transcript and everything just doesn’t seem fair!

In Pre-Calc we got our finals back, I got a 36/40 and have a solid A in that class for the semester. We got new seats, too, and I sit by Lucy. yay.

Chemistry is good too, because I got a 90% on the test and have a solid A.

APUSH is ALSO fine. She still has to add in our DBQ grades, which I probably did really bad on … But. I have a 91.6% right now, and she told our class that if we’re on the edge, and it goes down a grade because of the DBQ, she isn’t going to give us the lower grade. So I’ll still get an A. Phew. YAY. I don’t like her, but I’m thankful for that grading policy!

Then THANK GOD my Ceramics class changed at the semester to T.A. for the career center. Apparently the career center lady doesn’t come on Mondays, so she left us a note telling us to sign in and she’ll see us tomorrow. She has like 7 T.A.s for each period, because everyone wants to TA for her because it’s .5 credit instead of .25 (which it is for most teachers, but for offices & the library it’s .5) and she doesn’t make you do anything. And I think it’s occ-ed credit. Not that I need that, but whatever. So I got to leave early.

Of course it would have benefitted me more to stay there and do homework, because I just came home and procrastinated on myspace. Still haven’t done much homework tonight. I don’t have any that I absolutely HAVE to do, but there is stuff I SHOULD be doing. Eh. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

